Flowers / The Emotions & Charles Stepney


“And, although the Emotions wouldn’t sweep the top spot until their massive “Best of My Love” the following year, Flowers nevertheless remains an important and, even more significantly, eminently pleasant precursor to that groove.” – Amy Hanson /

FLOWERS was digitally remastered with an 8 page booklet and liner notes and reissued on CD with a bonus track in 2012 by Gold Legion a reissue label based in the USA.

Clarence McDonald & Fritz Baskett - Co-wrote "Me For You" (The Emotions)

The Emotions album FLOWERS, released in 1976, was a special and pivotal project. It was the sisters’ first project with Producers and fellow Chicago natives Maurice White and the late Charles Stepney.
The Emotions consisted of sister’s Jeanette, Sheila and Wanda Hutchinson. The sweet but powerful vocal harmonies were complemented by Verdine White (Bass), Fred White (Drums), Larry Dunn (Keyboards), Don Myrick (Alto Sax), Richard Brown (Tenor Sax), Louis Satterfield (Trombone), Oscar Bashear and Michael Harris (Trumpet).
It was during the recording of this project that Clarence McDonald first met the great Producer, Writer, Arranger and Musician Charles Stepney. Stepney immediately recognized McDonald’s writing skills and the two of them became fast friends and began making plans to collaborate. Stepney understood that all of the arrangement components were contained in McDonald’s song demos if people knew what to listen for. Stepney had to return home to Chicago, Illinois for a long weekend. Upon his return to Los Angeles, they agreed that they would begin writing together. Much to everyone’s surprise, Charles Stepney died while he was in Chicago (May 1976). It was a devastating loss to his family, Clarence McDonald and the entire music community.

Charles Stepney - Producer, Writer, Arranger, Musician

With the passing of Stepney, Maurice White asked McDonald to Co-Produce The Emotions REJOICE album. McDonald agreed and their collaboration resulted in The Emotions most successful album – REJOICE that included the #1 hit “Best Of My Love.”

Track Listings
1. I Don’t Wanna Lose Your Love 4:01
2. Me For You 4:17
3. You’ve Got The Right To Know 2:36
4. We Go Through Changes 0:55
5. Special Part 3:52
6. No Plans For Tomorrow 3:44
7. How Can You Stop Loving Someone
8. Flowers 4:28
9. God Will Take Care Of You 0:33
10. Flowers 3:43 (Single Version)